Carpet Institute of Australia - Environmental Certification Scheme

The Carpet Institute of Australia, Environmental Certification Scheme (ECS) certification is applicable to carpets and contributes to the following Green Star credits:


Current Green Star credits  Legacy Green Star credits 
 Indoor Pollutants

Flooring Calculator

Volatile Organic Compounds

Reduced Exposure to Pollutants






Certification levels

Flooring (carpets only)

The ECS awards four levels of certification, which are recognised by the GBCA as follows:

  • ECS v1.2 Level 1 - Not recognised
  • ECS v1.2 Level 2 - Level C GBCA recognition
  • ECS v1.2 Level 3 - Level B GBCA recognition
  • ECS v1.2 Level 4 (two options) - Level A GBCA recognition.


Carpets certified to ECS levels 2, 3 and 4 are deemed to satisfy the requirements of the 'VOC' or 'Reduced Exposure to Pollutants' credits in legacy Green Star rating tools as well as the ‘Indoor Pollutants’ credit in Green Star – Design & As Built and Green Star – Interiors.

Certification updates

The previously recognised ECS v 1.1 standard has been superseded by ECS v1.2. Products certified to ECS v1.1 will continue to be rewarded until the expiry date of the certification.